Education  >  News & media

Sunnybrook educators celebrated at annual awards

June 1, 2018

Education awardsEducation awardsEducation awardsEducation awardsEducation awards

Sunnybrook’s champions of education were honoured May 28, 2018 at the 8th Annual Celebrating Excellence in Education Awards evening.

The event recognized 123 education leaders for their passion for teaching at Sunnybrook, in the community and beyond. Staff members and physicians received awards for their involvement in education by Sunnybrook or our partner academic institutions. Also honoured were those who received academic appointments and promotions at the University of Toronto and other institutions.

The Sunnybrook Education Advisory Council (SEAC) presented seven awards, whose recipients were determined through a nominations process and panel review.

Here are this year’s recipients:

  • Patient & Family Education Award: Julie Paterson
  • Educating Sunnybrook Award: Leigh Andrews
  • Teaching Award: Dr. Sheldon Singh
  • Educating Beyond Sunnybrook Award: Dr. Ewa Szumacher
  • Student Experience Award: Dr. Justin Weissglas
  • Innovative Curriculum Award: Dr. Jeremy Rezmovitz
  • The Allan Knight Lifetime Achievement in Teaching: Edward Chow

“Thank you to all of our education champions who are finding innovative and better ways to teach; who are empowering our patients and families through education; and who are going above and beyond to give our students the best possible experience,” said Dr. Ari Zaretsky, VP, Education.

Sunnybrook is in the second year of its education strategic plan that places special emphasis on the unique role that patients can play as educators and the importance of learning together as a team, rather than as an individual.

“At Sunnybrook, we are inventing the future of health-care education,” says Dr. Zaretsky. “We couldn’t do this without you!”