Rose Awards

Sunnybrook Rose Awards


Since 2008, the Sunnybrook Rose Award has celebrated the extraordinary efforts of volunteers and hospital staff who help Sunnybrook achieve its philanthropic objectives, in turn contributing to the advancement of care across the hospital.

Created for Sunnybrook by Alexandre and Jeannine Raab, long-standing donors and dedicated volunteers to the hospital, the Sunnybrook Rose is a symbol of the determination we see in our philanthropic volunteers.

Alexandre and Jeannine immigrated to Canada after surviving the Second World War. Once here, they were drawn to Sunnybrook's legacy as a hospital for veterans and by our transformation into a major academic health sciences centre.

The Raabs, avid horticulturalists and entrepreneurs, carefully chose the hybrid tea rose for Sunnybrook after several years of testing and observation in the field. Its buds are a deep, vibrant yellow that resist fading even when fully mature. Rose Award honourees share many of the qualities that characterize the rose: they are unique individuals who uplift those around them, and they demonstrate perseverance during challenging times.

Eligibility & nomination criteria

The Rose Award recognizes the exemplary efforts of volunteers who have rallied community support for Sunnybrook, as well as hospital staff for outstanding work to support Sunnybrook's philanthropic objectives. It is presented when appropriate and to only the most deserving nominees.

Any member of the Sunnybrook community (volunteer or staff) can be nominated for the award. The following criteria are used when considering nominees:

  • Leadership and organizational ability relating to philanthropy
  • Time, effort and commitment to Sunnybrook
  • Success in recruiting and motivating individuals
  • Goals achieved by his/her effort

Past Rose Award recipients


Jennifer Tory
Dr. Andy Smith


Dr. Robert Maggisano
Mr. David Jackson
Mr. John McDermott


Dr. Anthony Levitt
Mr. Michael Horgan


Dr. Sandra Black, O.C., O. Ont.
Mr. Derek Walton


Dr. Eileen Rakovitch
Mrs. Virginia McLaughlin


Dr. Sherif Hanna
Mr. Terry O'Sullivan


Dr. Brian W. Gilbert
Ms. Marilyn Wright


Dr. Bernard Goldman, C.M.
Ms. Liz Tory


Dr. Marvin Tile, C.M.
Mr. George Fierheller, C.M.

Submission criteria

We welcome submissions that include a completed nomination form and a supporting narrative that is no longer than two pages. Additional documents that support the narrative – for instance, an endorsement letter – are also encouraged, though we request that no more than six pages of supporting documentation be provided.

The Rose Award is an honour bestowed by Sunnybrook Foundation. The foundation's Donor Relations Committee is responsible for reviewing nominees, based on the eligibility criteria, and for putting forward a recommendation to the foundation's Board of Directors. If the board determines that no applications meet the criteria in any given year, no awards will be given.

Deadline for 2017 nomination submissions is Friday, June 2, 2017 at 5 p.m.

Click here to download the nomination form.

Completed nomination forms and narratives may be submitted to:

Anne Odette Kaye
Chair, Donor Relations Committee
c/o Emma Thomas
Sunnybrook Foundation
2075 Bayview Ave. Suite KGW16
Toronto, ON M4N 3M5

For more information or nomination forms, please contact Emma Thomas at 416-480-4289 or All nominations are to be given and reviewed in confidence.