Rose Awards

Perry Dellelce (L) and Dr. Barry McLellan (R) were given Rose Awards to honour their leadership in advancing Sunnybrook Foundation's mission.

The 2018 Sunnybrook Rose Awards were bestowed on Perry Dellelce, former chair of Sunnybrook Foundation, and former hospital president and CEO Dr. Barry McLellan.

At the 11th annual Rose Awards ceremony, Perry and Barry were honoured with warmth, humour and affection for their combined success in advancing the philanthropic mission of Sunnybrook Foundation.

Barry began his distinguished career in Sunnybrook's Emergency Department in 1985, rising to become the eighth president and CEO of the hospital. In that role from 2007 to 2017, he oversaw nine major capital projects and other vital improvements, advancing Sunnybrook as a leader in multiple care programs and as a pioneer in health-care research.

As Dr. Jon Dellandrea, president and CEO of Sunnybrook Foundation, noted, "An engaged hospital leader is a prerequisite for successful advancement, and Barry was a wonderful ambassador to the community. In partnership with Perry, this dynamic duo helped raise over $500 million for Sunnybrook."

Perry served as chair of the Foundation Board from 2010 to 2016, making him the longest serving chair in the history of the Foundation and overlapping with much of Dr. McLellan's term as CEO.

Perry showed his fundraising prowess early as co-chair of the Cancer Campaign, and has been a true champion for the RBC Race for the Kids, where his legal industry challenge has been adopted by RBC globally. As Foundation chair, his leadership was crucial in securing the resources for many additional hospital projects.

Foundation board member Stacey Murphy and her husband, Glenn, were delighted to nominate Perry. Stacey remarked, "Perry's direct approach, along with his passion for Sunnybrook, led to many major gifts over the years. Perry's and Barry's legacies are intertwined, and the Sunnybrook they helped build is a bigger and bolder place."

Dr. Barry McLellan and Perry Dellelce are most worthy recipients of the Rose Award. Their leadership legacy is evident across the hospital in new buildings, state-of-the-art equipment and bold new research, all ensuring Sunnybrook has the necessary resources to invent the future of health care.

Past Rose Award Recipients

Jennifer Tory
Dr. Andy Smith


Dr. Robert Maggisano
Mr. David Jackson
Mr. John McDermott


Dr. Anthony Levitt
Mr. Michael Horgan


Dr. Sandra Black, O.C., O. Ont.
Mr. Derek Walton


Dr. Eileen Rakovitch
Mrs. Virginia McLaughlin


Dr. Sherif Hanna
Mr. Terry O'Sullivan


Dr. Brian W. Gilbert
Ms. Marilyn Wright


Dr. Bernard Goldman, C.M.
Ms. Liz Tory


Dr. Marvin Tile, C.M.
Mr. George Fierheller, C.M.

Rose Awards