Sunnybrook Foundation - Who we are

Who we are

Sunnybrook Foundation exists to support the advancement of our world-class health sciences centre, through active fundraising in support of research, education and equipment initiatives at Sunnybrook.

Board of Directors

Meet our Board of Directors at the helm of our Foundation.


Fred Waks
President & CEO
Trinity Development Group Inc.

Vice Chair

Anne Odette Kaye
E. & G. Odette Foundation


Carol Wilding
President & CEO
Chartered Professional Accountants of Ontario


Shelley McGirr
Mariner Asset Inc.

Morgan Borins
VP Sales and Operations

Phillip Crawley
Publisher & CEO
The Globe & Mail
Perry Dellelce
Founder & Managing Partner
Wildeboer Dellelce, LLP
  Carey Diamond
Managing Partner
Whitecap Venture Partners
Albert Gasparro
G Group
  Dr. Phyllis Glanc
Co-Director, Obstetrical Ultrasound Centre
Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
Blake Goldring
Chairman & CEO
AGF Management Limited
Chair, Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
  Anita Gupta
President & CEO
NMI Sales Tax Consulting Group
Gord Love
Portfolio Manager & Director
Scotia Wealth Management
  Allan MacDonald
Canadian Tire
Janet MacPhail   Rosemary McLeese
Administration Access Capital Corp.
Dr. Barry McLellan
President & CEO
Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
  Stacey Murphy
The Murphy Family Foundation
Terry O'Sullivan
Founding Partner
Lax O’Sullivan Lisus Gottlieb
  Cliff Rand
National Managing Partner
Deloitte Tax Law LLP
Harry Rosenbaum
Founding Principal & Director
Great Gulf Group of Companies
  Jos Schmitt
President & CEO
Aequitas NEO Exchange Inc.
Som Seif
Founder & CEO
Purpose Investments
  Dr. Andy Smith
President & Chief Medical Executive
Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
Stephen Tile
Founder & Partner
Ignite Lab Inc.
  Jennifer Tory
Chief Administrative Officer
RBC Royal Bank


Governing Council

The Governing Council is a voting body of Sunnybrook Foundation. Its primary governance responsibility is to elect the Directors of the Foundation Board at the Annual General Meeting each year.


Terry O'Sullivan
Lax O’Sullivan Lisus Gottlieb LLP

Vice Chair

Anne Odette Kaye
E. & G. Odette Foundation

Vice Chair

Carol Wilding
Chartered Professional Accountants of Ontario


Alan B.H. Abrams
Carlro Holdings Ltd.
Joan H. Addison

David Agnew
Seneca College
Lesley A. Alboini

Malcolm D. Anthony
RBC Dominion Securities Inc.
Gail Appel

Mark G. Appel, Q.C.

David Archibald

Salvatore M. Badali
Odgers Berndtson
Shane Baghai
Shane Baghai Group of Companies
Sharon Baghai

Mauro Baldassarra
Starlane Home Corporation
Dr. Martin Barkin

Hollis F. Barry

Jennifer Bassett
Bassett Events
Paul L. Bertin
No Limit Technologies Inc.
Austin C. Beutel
Oakwest Corporation Limited
Nani Beutel
Aziz Bhaloo
The Foray Group of Companies
Jordan L. Bitove
Bitove Capital
Tracey J. Black
GFH Group Inc.
Morgan Borins
Ann Bowman
RBC Royal Bank
William E. Bradford
Thomas H. Brent Donald R. Brown, Q.C.
Melmerby Investments Inc.
H. Michael Burns 
The Janet and Charles Burns Foundation
Linda C. Campbell Anne-Marie Canning Celine Chen
Andrea Chisholm Robert W. Chisholm Dr. Mabel Choi
James R. Christie 
Canadian Tire Corporation Limited
Gerald R. Connor
Cumberland Private Wealth Management
Dr. Sherry Cooper
Dominion Lending Centres
Carol A. Cowan Phillip Crawley 
The Globe and Mail
George N. M. Currie
Frederick F. Dalley
Arrow Capital Management Inc.
Aubrey L. Dan
Dancap Private Equity Inc.
Marla L. Dan
Perry N. Dellelce
Wildeboer Dellelce LLP
Catherine A. Deluce
Chestnut Park Real Estate
Carey J. Diamond
Whitecap Venture Partners
Diana M. Dunlap
Laceby Real Estate
H. Garfield Emerson, Q.C.
Emerson Advisory
Joel Feldberg
The Global Group
George A. Fierheller, C.M.
Four Halls Inc.
John T. Firstbrook
The Firstbrook Group of Companies
Elizabeth Flavelle
John R. Gardner
Fields Institute of Research
in Mathematical Sciences
Albert Gasparro
G Group
Dr. Brian Gilbert
Gwyn Gill Dr. Phyllis Glanc
Blake C. Goldring
AGF Management Limited
Leonard H. Goodman
First Financial Corporation
Lily Goodman
All Seniors Care Living Centres
Anita Gupta
NMI Sales Tax Consultants
Graham Hallward
The Alva Foundation
Marie Heffernan Susan J. Helstab
Four Seasons Hotels Limited
Trent Henry
Ernst & Young LLP
Dr. Kevin Higgins
Christopher S.L. Hoffmann
Brompton Group
Susanne Holland William T. Holland
CI Financial Corp.
Gordon J. Homer
Gordon J. Homer Advisory
J. Michael Horgan Mary-Ellen Horgan Marilyn Hull
Garry L. Hurvitz
G. Hurvitz Foundation
J. David A. Jackson
Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP
Dr. Michael Julius
Sunnybrook & Sunnybrook Research Institute
Vijay Kanwar
KMH Cardiology & Diagnostic Centres Inc. and Kanwar Family Foundation
Michael Kaye
Alexa Translations
James C. Keating B. Vincent Kelly
Edward J. Kernaghan
Kernaghan & Partners Ltd.
Sheryl L. Kerr
Strathfield Consultants Ltd.
Ann Kerwin
Michael M. Koerner, C.M.
Canadian Overseas Investment Limited
Sonja N. Koerner R. Shayne Kukulowicz
Cassels Brock & Blackwell LLP
Tim W. Kwan
Mon Sheong Foundation
David Lam
Tai Foong International Ltd.
Diane Lang 
Lang Management
David A. Leslie Richard H. Ling
Ana P. Lopes, C.M.
Phipps Lounsbery
Litchfield Capital Advisors
W. Carl Lovas
Odgers Berndtson
Gord Love
Scotia Wealth Management
Robert W. Luba
Luba Financial Inc.
Sherry Mabro

Allan A. MacDonald
Canadian Tire
Anne Marie MacLeod
Walter M. Macnee
MasterCard Worldwide
Janet MacPhail Veronica S. Maidman

John S. Man
Chinese Cultural Centre of Greater Toronto
Stephen O. Marshall
EdgeStone Capital Partners Inc.
Mark McEwan
The McEwan Group
Shelley McGirr
Mariner Asset Inc.
Dr. Brian H. McGrath
Sporting Life
Virginia McLaughlin
Helmhorst Investments Limited
Rosemary McLeese
Access Capital Corporation
Dr. Barry McLellan
Mark R. McQueen
Wellington Financial
Ted Meighen
Porter Airlines Inc.
Gregory A. Milavsky
Canterbury Park Capital
Ian D. Milnes
Brian Minton
Lifestyle Integrated Inc.
W. Frank Morneau, Sr., KCSG, KCHS
Morneau Shepell Inc.
Deborah Murnaghan
Dr. John J. Murnaghan
Stacey Murphy
The Murphy Family Foundation
Gulshan Nanji
Pyarali G. Nanji
Belle-Pak Packaging Inc.
Nimi Nanji-Simard Dr. Ken Ng
Total Health Management Inc.
Jennifer Pagnutti Louis P. Pagnutti
Ernst & Young Global Limited
Maureen Parkinson
J. Brian Prendergast
Recochem Inc.
Valerie Pringle, C.M. Len Racioppo
Coerente Capital Management Inc.
Cliff Rand
Deloitte Tax Law LLP
Heather Reid Dr. Robin R. Richards
Cristina Ronald T. Iain Ronald Harry Rosenbaum
Great Gulf Group of Companies
Dr. Gordon Rubenfeld
Aubrey A. Russell,* Q.C.
Maureen J. Sabia, O.C.
Canadian Tire Corporation, Limited
Gerrard B. Schmid
Jos Schmitt
Aequitas NEO Exchange Inc.
Dr. Seymour Schulich, O.C., CFA
Nevada Capital Corporation
Som Seif
Purpose Investments
Kimberley Shannon
Sionna Investment Managers Inc.
Lydia H. Sharpe Peter Sharpe Susan M. Shaw
John L. Sherrington
Scotia Capital Inc.
Dr. Kenneth I. Shulman
Georgia H. Sievwright
Dr. Andy Smith
Sandra J. Spencer

Willard S. Sutherland

James C. Temerty, C.M.
Northland Power Inc.
John W. Thompson Dr. Marvin Tile, C.M.
Stephen Tile
Ignite Lab Inc.
Elizabeth Tory

Jennifer Tory
RBC Royal Bank
Gregory W. Tsang
CIBC Private Investment Counsel
Jane B. Underwood

Erol Uzumeri

Annette M. Verschuren, O.C.
NRStor Inc.
Marcia Visser John A. Vivash
Tesseract Financial Inc.
Frederic A. Waks
Trinity Development Group Inc.
Colin D. Watson Michael Wekerle
Difference Capital Financial Inc.
John D. Wetmore Dr. Blossom T. Wigdor, C.M. William E. Wilder
Richardson GMP Ltd.
Charles M. Winograd Andrea L. Wood
TELUS Corporation
Don O. Wood
Dr. C. Stewart Wright, FRCSC
Marilyn P. Wright Paul Zentil
Zentil Property Management Inc.