Hospital  >  News & media  >  News

Sunnybrook educators celebrated at annual awards night

May 18, 2016

Sunnybrook’s champions of education were honoured May 17, 2016, at the 6th Annual Celebrating Excellence in Education Awards evening.

The event recognized 140 education leaders for their passion for teaching at Sunnybrook, in the community and beyond. The staff members and physicians received awards for their involvement in education by Sunnybrook or our partner academic institutions. Also honoured were those who received academic appointments and promotions at the University of Toronto.

The Sunnybrook Education Advisory Council (SEAC) presented six awards, whose winners were determined through a nominations process and panel review.

Those winners were:

  • Patient & Family Education Award: Elaine Avila
  • Educating Sunnybrook Award: Siobhan Donaghy
  • Teaching Award: Dr. Hany Soliman
  • Teaching Award: Dr. Yoo-Joung Ko
  • Educating Beyond Sunnybrook Award: Dr. Carole Cohen

Dr. Anita Rachlis received the Allan Knight Lifetime Education Achievement Award, which honours an education champion who has made a significant contribution to education at Sunnybrook. Dr. Rachlis, physician and affiliate scientist in the division of infectious diseases and head of the HIV Clinic, has worked at Sunnybrook for many years. "She is known nationally for being an outstanding HIV clinician. She has taken on the various roles of: physician, educator, researcher, leader, mentor, innovator and advocate," said Dr. Andy Smith, executive vice president and chief medical executive at Sunnybrook, while presenting Dr. Rachlis her award. "Dr. Rachlis is known as being one of the finest medical teachers in Canada. Her direct style, encyclopedic knowledge base and clinical acumen have benefitted learners of all levels."

Dr. L. Trevor Young, Dean of the Faculty of Medicine at University of Toronto, gave the keynote address "Medical Leadership: A personal perspective."

“We are so proud of our award winners, those who received appointments and promotions, and all of the staff and physicians who demonstrate an ongoing commitment to education,” said Dr. Ari Zaretsky, VP, Education. “Our education champions work tirelessly to provide excellent learning experiences for our students, patients and their families. At Sunnybrook, we believe education is foundational for inventing the future of healthcare. Thank you to our award winners and others in our Sunnybrook community who contribute to this mission.”

Anita Rachlis