We salute some notable achievements of scientists at Sunnybrook Research Institute (SRI) during 2012

National and International Awards

The Government of Canada renewed the Tier 1 Canada Research Chairs of the following SRI scientists: Dr. Dan Dumont, in Angiogenic and Lymphangiogenic Signalling; Dr. Kullervo Hynynen, in Imaging Systems and Image-Guided Therapy; and Dr. Juan Carlos Zúñiga-Pflücker, in Developmental Immunology. The award is the most prestigious academic honour bestowed by the federal government. Ten scientists at SRI hold Canada Research Chairs.

The Canada Foundation for Innovation awarded Dr. David Andrews, Dr. Greg Czarnota, Dr. Simon Graham, Hynynen, Dr. Stanley Liu and Zúñiga-Pflücker each a Leaders Opportunity Fund grant. This award pays for infrastructure to help attract the brightest scientists to Canadian institutions, to strengthen the country’s position as a global leader in research and development.

The Canadian Institutes of Health Research recognized Dr. Nick Daneman with a phase two Clinician Scientist award, designed to help outstanding clinician scientists develop an independent health research program.

Dr. Lorne Zinman was given the Governor General of Canada Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal, an award that honours significant achievements by Canadians. He was recognized for his leadership in establishing the Canadian ALS (amyotrophic lateral sclerosis) Research Network.

Dr. Homer Tien was appointed the first Canadian Forces Major Sir Frederick Banting Term Chair in Military Trauma Research. The award will support Tien’s research, which aims to improve the care of trauma patients—military personnel and civilians.

Provincial Awards

The Ministry of Research and Innovation (MRI) awarded Andrews, Czarnota, Graham, Hynynen, Liu and Zúñiga-Pflücker Ontario Research Fund-Research Infrastructure awards. This program matches the awards given through the Leaders Opportunity Fund by the Canada Foundation for Innovation.

Also from MRI, Dr. Mario Masellis received an Early Researcher Award. The prize supports researchers early in their careers by helping them build a research team. Dr. Sandra Black was named to the Order of Ontario. It is the province’s highest honour and recognizes excellence and achievement in any field.

The Heart and Stroke Foundation of Ontario awarded Dr. Burton Yang a Career Investigator award, given to established independent researchers in the field of cardiovascular or cerebrovascular disease.

Fellowships and Other Honours

Black was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada. The honour recognizes individuals for outstanding scholarly, scientific and artistic achievement.

The Orthopaedic Research Society presented Dr. Diane Nam with the 2012 New Investigator Recognition Award, given to support researchers early in their careers.

Dr. Beverley Orser was named a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences in recognition of her contributions to the promotion of academic health science.

For more on awards given to researchers at Sunnybrook Research Institute, visit the awards section under About SRI on the website: sunnybrook.ca/research